Office of the President

The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod

Harrison re-elected LCMS President

The Rev. Dr. Matthew C. Harrison has been re-elected to a fourth term as president of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod after receiving the majority vote on the first ballot during the June 22–25 election period.

The three nominees for president of the Synod were Harrison, the Rev. Dr. David P.E. Maier and the Rev. Timothy M. Klinkenberg. The results of the ballots (cast by a total registered electorate of 6,449), as tallied by Election-America and reported to the secretary of the Synod on June 26, are as follows:

  • Harrison — 3,014 votes (51.76 percent)
  • Maier — 2,323 votes (39.89 percent)
  • Klinkenberg — 486 votes (8.35 percent)

The installation service will take place at 7 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 13, in the chapel on the campus of Concordia Seminary, St. Louis.

  Read Reporter story

The Rev. Dr. Matthew C. Harrison is the 13th man to serve as president of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS) since its founding in 1847.

In addition to President Harrison, six vice-presidents make up the LCMS Praesidium.

Hong Kong Properties Sale

LCMS Council of Presidents unanimously affirms that Board of Directors and President’s office acted honorably and with integrity in the sale of Synod-owned properties in Hong Kong.

Read Resolution & FAQs

Demographics Study

Licensed Lay Deacons Update

Christians make up a much smaller percentage of the population than they did a generation or two ago. Learn the key factor behind the decline in LCMS membership.

Read report    Read commentary

Preach the Word

Preach the Word

The Preach the Word program helps pastors improve their preaching through video modules and by interacting with seminary professors and fellow preachers.

Get started

Message to the Church

A portion of this “white paper” takes up the demographic issues of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. As we face challenges with the Word of God, we will continue to grow together in unity.

Read white paper

2017 Millennial Research

2017 Millennial Research

LCMS Youth Ministry partnered with LCMS Research to conduct an unprecedented study of young adult retention in the LCMS and in the larger Christian Church.

Read Executive Summary Video

Highlights from Synod

Life Together News Digest from President Harrison

Life Together, a monthly email news digest from LCMS President Matthew C. Harrison, features highlights from Synod publications and multimedia outlets.

Subscribe    Read editions

  • A note from President Harrison A note from President Harrison
  • Dear friends in Christ,

    Recently, I sent out handwritten notes to some pastors of the Synod, encouraging them to participate in the nominations and election process for Synod president and vice-presidents.

    A pastor contacted me indicating that my action gave the appearance of bias, may have confused some, and thus caused offense. St. Paul wrote, “Give no offense to Jews or to Greeks or to the church of God“ (1 Cor. 10:32).

    I apologize for the offense and/or confusion this may have caused.

    On all details regarding the nominations and election process, please refer to the clear and official documents provided by the secretary of the Synod:

    Rev. Dr. Matthew C. Harrison

    February 8, 2019


Theological Statements



Recent Articles & Statements

Matthew Harrison – Reporter
Pray without ceasing
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 1:31:36 PM

Thanks, Herb!
Monday, June 03, 2019 3:49:15 PM

Peace on a mission
Wednesday, May 01, 2019 2:54:16 PM

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust
Monday, April 01, 2019 12:01:23 PM

This feed has 4 articles on 1 page

 View Archives

Join us on the journey

Lutherans Engage the World

Lutheran Engage the WorldEngaging the Church in the work of witness and mercy across the globe in our life together.

Read now


The Lutheran Witness

The Lutheran WitnessInterpreting the contemporary world from a Lutheran Christian perspective

Learn more

Concordia Publishing House

Concordia Publishing House

Contact Us

  Email us

  Church Info Center: 888-843-5267
  Staff Switchboard: 800-248-1930
  Donor Care Line: 888-930-4438

 1333 S. Kirkwood Road, St. Louis, MO 63122-7226


Guide Star Logo BBB Logo

The Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod Inc., including Mission Central (in Mapleton, Iowa), is an IRS registered 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charity.

A contribution designated (restricted) for a specific purpose when accepted, will be used only to fund expenses related to that purpose. Occasionally, we may receive more in contributions for a particular purpose than can be wisely applied to it in the foreseeable future or the purpose may cease to be feasible. In these situations, the LCMS will make reasonable attempts to contact contributors to apply their contribution differently. If a contributor cannot be contacted, the LCMS will use the gift to meet a similar pressing need that most closely matches the contributor's original intent.  Consistent with Synod Board policy, no more than 12 percent of a charitable contribution may be applied to administering gifts and communicating with contributors.  Contributions received and accepted by the LCMS are deemed to be in agreement with this statement.

Our Tax Identification Number is: 43-0658188

>>View Donor Transparency Resources

Employment  |  For the Media  |  Site Map  |  Privacy


© 2003 – 2010   The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. All Rights Reserved.