Mission Advancement Staff Directory

The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod


 

Our Commitment to Donors

General Contact Information

Departments


 

Coordination & Accountability



Mark D. Hofman, B.S. Ed., MBA -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Executive Director, Mission Advancement & Mission Advocate / Interim Director – Pastoral Formation & Care opportunities Mark D. Hofman, B.S. Ed., MBA

Executive Director — Mission Advancement & Mission Advocate
Interim Director — Pastoral Formation & Care opportunities

  • Regions: Colorado, Connecticut, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Nebraska, New Hampshire, eastern New York state, Rhode Island, southeastern Utah, Vermont, and Western Iowa
  • Contact:
    314-996-1315
    mark.hofman@lcms.org

 

Laura Bucy -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Executive Administrative AssistantLaura Bucy

Executive Administrative Assistant

  • Contact:
    314-996-1325
    laura.bucy@lcms.org

 

Return to top

 


 

Member Engagement (Sustaining Funds)



Julie Branson -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Gift Processing & Telecare ManagerJulie Branson

Gift Processing & Telecare Manager

  • Contact:
    314-996-1665
    julie.branson@lcms.org

 

Brad Wood -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Projects CoordinatorBrad Wood

Projects Coordinator

  • Contact:
    314-996-1321
    brad.wood@lcms.org

 

Linda Thomas -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Telecare RepresentativeLinda Thomas

Telecare Representative

  • Contact:
    314-996-1671

 

Joan Clifton -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Telecare RepresentativeJoan Clifton

Telecare Representative

  • Contact:
    314-996-10372

 

Sandra Hood -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Telecare RepresentativeSandra Hood

Telecare Representative

  • Contact:
    314-996-1631

 

Beverly Clancy -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Telecare RepresentativeBeverly Clancy

Telecare Representative

  • Contact:
    314-996-1642

 

Ginger Reese

Gift Processing Specialist

 

Brooke Sparks

Gift Processing Specialist

 

Return to top

 


 

Mission Advocates, Grants, Foundations, and District/Congregation Relations



John Lewis -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Director, Transformative Giving and Mission AdvocateJohn Lewis

Director — Transformative Giving and Mission Advocate

  • Regions: Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, and Florida

  • Contact:
    734-646-0122
    john.lewis@lcms.org

 

Anna Lockwood

Administrative Assistant — Mission Advocates

  • Contact:
    888-930-4438 (toll-free)
    314-996-1672
    anna.lockwood@lcms.org

 

Michael Fischer - LCMS Mission Advancement - Senior Gift Planning AdvocateMichael Fischer, CFRE, CDE, M.Ed.

Mission Advocate & Associate Gift Planning Counselor — LCMS Foundation

  • Regions: All regions
  • Contact:
    480-313-5251
    michael.fischer@lcms.org

 

Kate Ellis - Coordinator of LCMS Mission Advancement Gift PlanningKate Ellis

Coordinator — Gift Planning & Grants

  • Contact:
    314-996-1680
    kate.ellis@lcms.org

 

Shane Smithson - LCMS Mission Advancement - Mission AdvocateShane Smithson

Mission Advocate

  • Regions: Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, and Missouri
  • Contact:
    314-974-8508 (mobile)
    314-996-1693 (office)
    shane.smithson@lcms.org

 

Greg Rommel - LCMS Mission Advancement - Mission AdvocateGreg Rommel

Mission Advocate

  • Regions: Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi
  • Contact:
    314-277-2005
    greg.rommel@lcms.org

 

David Fiala - LCMS Mission Advancement - Mission AdvocateDavid Fiala

Mission Advocate

  • Regions: Wisconsin and Minnesota
  • Contact:
    314-278-9750
    david.fiala@lcms.org

 

Joe Deverian - LCMS Mission Advancement - Mission AdvocateJoe Deverian

Mission Advocate

  • Region: California
  • Contact:
    562-383-8454
    joe.deverian@lcms.org

 

Jacob Gnan - LCMS Mission Advancement - Mission AdvocateJacob Gnan

Mission Advocate

  • Regions: Texas and New Mexico
  • Contact:
    414-807-8534
    jacob.gnan@lcms.org

 

Frank Kremer - LCMS Mission Advancement - Mission AdvocateFrank Kremer

Mission Advocate

  • Regions: Mississippi, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Missouri
  • Contact:
    314-644-8668
    frank.kremer@lcms.org

 

Krista Young - LCMS Mission Advancement - Mission AdvocateKrista Young

Mission Advocate

  • Regions: North Carolina, Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New York, and Delaware
  • Contact:
    314-745-2381
    krista.young@lcms.org

 

Zach Schnare - LCMS Mission Advancement - Mission AdvocateZach Schnare

Mission Advocate

  • Regions: Illinois and Iowa
  • Contact:
    618-973-2426
    zach.schnare@lcms.org

 

Jennifer Hummel -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Program Coordinator — Christ’s Care for Children: Kenya & Associate Program Coordinator — Donor Care and Advocacy Jennifer Hummel

Program Coordinator — Christ’s Care for Children: Kenya
Associate Program Coordinator — Donor Care and Advocacy

  • Contact:
    314-996-1326
    jennifer.hummel@lcms.org

 

Alyssa Gaterman -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Manager -- Mid-Range CareAlyssa Gaterman

Manager — Mid-Range Care

  • Region: Western North America
  • Contact:
    314-996-1731
    alyssa.gaterman@lcms.org

 

Kai Luckert -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Coordinator -- Mid-Range CareKai Luckert

Coordinator — Mid-Range Care

  • Region: Eastern North America
  • Contact:
    314-996-1645
    kai.luckert@lcms.org

 

Carley Lavin -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Coordinator -- Mid-Range CareCarley Lavin

Coordinator — Mid-Range Care

  • Regions: North Central and North America
  • Contact:
    314-996-1611
    carley.lavin@lcms.org

 

Amy Scholz -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- District/Congregation AdvocateAmy Scholz

District/Congregation Advocate

  • Region: Deployed in Nevada
  • Contact:
    702-205-6644
    amy.scholz@lcms.org

 

Mary Hamilton - LCMS Mission Advancement - Manager, Grants, and FoundationsMary Hamilton

Manager — Grants and Foundations

  • Contact:
    314-996-1310
    mary.hamilton@lcms.org

 

Return to top

 


 

Information Analysis and Advocate Support



Cindy Schwegmann

Manager — Research

  • Contact:
    888-930-4438
    cindy.schwegmann@lcms.org

 

Kristin Knabach

Specialist — Research

  • Contact:
    314-996-1045
    kristin.knabach@lcms.org

 

Return to top

 


 

Missionary Network Care & Support



Chandra Thurman - LCMS Mission Advancement - Director, Missionary Network Care & SupportChandra Thurman, MBA

Director — Missionary Network Care & Support

  • Contact:
    314-996-1053
    chandra.thurman@lcms.org

 

Edie Honaker

Administrative Assistant — Missionary Network Care

  • Contact:
    314-996-1323
    edie.honaker@lcms.org

 

Julie Loehring -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Membership Coordinator — Together In Mission (LCMS congregations and organizations giving or pledging financial support for official LCMS missionaries)Julie Loehring

Membership Coordinator — Together In Mission (LCMS congregations and organizations giving or pledging financial support for official LCMS missionaries)

  • Contact:
    888-930-4438, ext. 1651
    314-996-1651
    julie.loehring@lcms.org

 

Michelle Beckmann -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Membership Coordinator — Mission Senders (Individuals and families giving or pledging financial support for official LCMS missionaries)Michelle Beckmann

Membership Coordinator — Mission Senders (Individuals and families giving or pledging financial support for official LCMS missionaries)

  • Contact:
    888-930-4438, ext. 1047
    314-996-1047
    michelle.beckmann@lcms.org

 


Return to top

 


 

Mission Central — Mapleton, Iowa



Gary Thies -- Mission Central / LCMS Mission Advancement -- Missionary and Support Advocate/Mission Development Counselor Gary Thies

Missionary and Support Advocate/Mission Development Counselor

  • Regions: Nebraska & Iowa-West Districts
  • Contact:
    712-251-1264
    gary.thies@lcms.org

 

Pam Kovarna

Administrative Assistant

  • Contact:
    712-882-1029
    pam.kovarna@lcms.org

 

Sonya Sexton

Administrative Assistant (part-time)

  • Contact:
    712-882-1029
    sonya.sexton@lcms.org

 

Return to top

 


 

Campaigns and Special Initiatives



Martha (Mitkos) Dahlke -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Director, Campaigns and Special Initiatives & Mission AdvocateMartha (Mitkos) Dahlke

Director — Campaigns and Special Initiatives & Mission Advocate

  • Regions: Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oregon, Western Utah, Washington, and Wyoming
  • Contact:
    314-996-1322 (office)
    618-520-5445 (mobile)
    martha.dahlke@lcms.org

 

Return to top

 


 

Gift Receipting, Records-Keeping and Database Management



Ann Lowery -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Manager -- Gift and Database OperationsAnn Lowery

Manager — Data Integrity: Blackbaud CRM Database

  • Contact:
    314-996-1673

 

Kathy Wakeman -- LCMS Mission Advancement -- Coordinator -- Data IntegrityKathy Wakeman

Coordinator — Data Integrity

  • Contact:
    314-996-1752
    kathleen.wakeman@lcms.org

 

Pam Hassler

Constituent Information Database Administrator

 

Jenna Koch

Gift Receipting Coordinator

 

Return to top

 

Join us on the journey

Mission and Vision

Seven Mission Priorities

The Lutheran Witness Magazine

The Lutheran Witness Magazine

MDFL Resource Center

Making Disciples for Life - Resource Center

Latest Convention Information

68th Regular Convention

Church Work Recruitment Initiative

Set Apart to Serve

Caring for Ukraine

Ukraine Support

Contact Us
 

  Email us
 

  Church Info Center: 888-843-5267
  Staff Switchboard: 800-248-1930
  Donor Care Line: 888-930-4438
 

 1333 S. Kirkwood Road, St. Louis, MO 63122-7226

 

Guide Star Logo BBB Logo


The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod Inc., including Mission Central (in Mapleton, Iowa), is an IRS registered 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charity.

A contribution designated (restricted) for a specific purpose, when accepted, will be used only to fund expenses related to that purpose. Occasionally, we may receive more in contributions for a particular purpose than can be wisely applied to it in the foreseeable future or the purpose may cease to be feasible. In these situations, the LCMS will make reasonable attempts to contact contributors to apply their contribution toward another aspect of ministry that aligns closely the contributor’s goals and values. If a contributor cannot be contacted, the LCMS will use the gift to meet a similar pressing need that most closely matches the contributor's original intent.

Consistent with Synod Board policy and in recognition of a more challenging economic and philanthropic/fundraising environment due to inflationary pressure, not more than 12.5 percent of any charitable contribution will be allocated to administering gifts and communicating with contributors (compared to a not-more-than ceiling of 10.5 percent the previous fiscal year). Contributions received and accepted by the LCMS are deemed to be in agreement with this statement.

Donor Transparency Resources


Employment   |   For the Media   |   Site Map   |   Privacy   |   Social Media Guidelines    |   Social Media Directory

 

© 2003 – 2010   The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. All Rights Reserved.